Cravings for Oatmeal Raisin Cookies: Satisfied

by anneihilate

Currently at work, enjoying one of the vegan oatmeal raisin cookies I baked last night (recipe found here!) which might be the best oatmeal raisin cookies I’ve ever had! They are enormous and gooey, and I can’t wait to make Erik try one after work tonight. The only obvious changes I made were that I used spelt flour instead of kamut flour, and pure cane sugar instead of sucanat. I wonder if there is a big difference in the sweetness of the two. I also baked mine for an extra 5 minutes because they were so jumbo sized.

Totally unrelated, but I’ve been feeling a little documentary-crazed lately, and one of the ones I watched recently was called “Thin”. It showed a few weeks in the lives of some patients at an eating disorder treatment centre in the United States. It was so heartbreaking, to see all of these women struggling through treatment, only to leave before they are ready to (due to their insurance running out, or because they don’t want to be helped, among other reasons) and relapsing. It was pretty scary to see just how consuming a serious eating disorder can be, and how it can take a lifetime to recover from. This documentary was stomach-turning and sad, but totally eyeopening, so if you get a chance to, check it out.

On a happier note, I still can’t believe I’m switching programs! Whenever I think about it, it doesn’t feel quite real yet. I’m going to have to figure out whether I need to buy a lap top or not, which I’ve been wanting for a while to help with recipe access in the kitchen. I’m also weirdly excited to start buying textbooks so I can start reading. The way the program works is we do two courses at a time on alternating days, usually about a month long, until we get through all 19 courses. According to my schedule, I’ll be starting with Biological Chemistry which I am not remotely excited for (loathing for chemistry instilled in my being since high school), and Nutrition and Health Fundamentals, which I am feeling pretty keen about already. Buuuut, enough boring details about my life. 😛 I’ll be going now! Have a beautiful day!

