Today’s Gourmet Lunch and More

by anneihilate

Hey guys! So I’m at work right now, and I just sat down for the gourmet lunch I packed for myself! Today I work seven hours, and I find that I get hungry pretty frequently, so I definitely try to bring enough food to keep my satisfied throughout the day. Today’s eats are an almond butter and banana sandwich on Country Harvest’s sunflower flax bread (I love this brand…all of their bread is so yummy), a spinach-arugula-banana smoothie (made with 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze and 2 tablespoons of hemp hearts…I definitely overdid it on the arugula though… it made my smoothie pretty bitter, but I had to use it up…), a fennel bulb which I cut up and roasted with salt and pepper this morning, a cup of those really dark cherries that are super sweet and awesome, and about 1/4 cup of walnuts. This is what I’m eating right now:

I wish I could have taken a shot that actually featured more lunch than face, but I just took it on the laptop webcam at work which is not easy to move. We work with what we have.

Yoga cross on Thursday night was excellent. My booty is still killing me. I am starting to learn that I actually love working out in a group environment (even though I hated phys-ed all through elementary and high school) because I get so competitive and push myself much harder than I would if I was just working out by myself. Unfortunately this particular class is only offered twice a week, on days that I usually work, but I told the receptionist that I would love it if they offered it more frequently. Maybe if I keep bugging them about it, they’ll start doing more of them.

Last night, Erik took me out for dinner to this Japanese and Korean restaurant called “Sakai” where I had a dish called Bee-Bim Bop which was made from some vegetables (I recognized zucchini, shredded carrots, onions, and bokchoy) and tofu (it originally was supposed to be made with ground beef, but I asked them to substitute tofu) which they served in a hot stone bowl, so it was still cooking when it got to the table. On top was a fried egg, and it came with a bowl of rice and a bottle of sirracha to stir into the veggies. It was pretty yummy, but I could have had less white rice, and brown rice was not an option at this restaurant. For dessert, we had red bean ice cream mochi balls, which were amazing…I could have had so many of them, but I realize that my crazy sweet tooth is definitely something that I need to work on. I also really need to work out on how often I go out to eat. Dinner at Sakai was the third time this week! Erik and I love food, and I love the intimacy of sitting down to talk and enjoy a meal with someone. Buuuut, it’s expensive, not particularly healthy, and I really need to get cracking on my cooking ability. Last week, I ordered Tosca Reno’s new cookbook, The Eat-Clean Diet Vegetarian Cookbook, and I can’t wait for it to arrive. Alas, it hasn’t even shipped yet because I ordered it with a couple more obscure items, so it will probably be a while. 😦

After dinner, I was supposed to go to an outdoor Vinyasa class, but the sky outside was looking rather grey and ominous, so I called the studio to find out what was happening and discovered that class was cancelled. Yesterday definitely did not feel worthy of a rest day, so I hit the library and borrowed some yoga DVDs, a kickboxing DVD, and Michael Pollan’s books, In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto, and The Omnivore’s Dilema. I’m trying to educate myself as much as I can on food and nutrition, so if anyone reading this has any suggestions on related books I should check out, please let me know!

The DVD I ended up doing last night was Ali Mcgraw’s Yoga, Mind and Body which, if I’m honest with myself, made me feel like a bit of a tool. I love yoga class, and most of the instructors I have had are great and really know their stuff. There is something very different about yoga instructors in DVDs. They sound so pretentious, and I feel like they always try to get you into these stupid hard poses that I can’t possibly see the merit in, with very little challenging stuff in-between. Does that make sense? It always seems to be either too much or too little. And the poses that actually feel amazing and you get this great stretch out of, you never get to hold them for long enough. Maybe I’m just being a grouch or don’t have enough patience or something, but I have to say, I would much rather be at the studio. Again, if anyone has some suggestions for fitness DVDs, I’m definitely open to trying something new, because there are some days where my work schedule does not co-operate with my yoga schedule.

On that note, I’ve pretty much written you a little novella here, plus I’ve got to get back to work! More soon!

